Ubiquity February Social – Tuesday 7th February 2017

Last Tuesday, I was delighted to attend Ubiquity PR’s February Social event. Held at HOST Restaurant on Hope Street in Liverpool’s Georgian Quarter, this featured guests from different organisations. These included representatives from organisations such as the Morgan Foundation, United Utilities and Liverpool Community Health Trust.

The purpose of the event was to promote All Together Now, which is a charity newspaper for everyone, especially those affected by health and disability. Founded and edited by Tom Dowling, All Together Now commands a readership of 500,000 people, to promote social inclusion for everyone from all walks of life.

When I arrived at the event, my first reaction was seeing through the window, how busy the event looked. As I walked through the door, the atmosphere felt relaxing and informal, setting the tone for a very good evening. Complimented by the fine surroundings of HOST, the event consisted of delicious Pan-Asian canapés, a prize draw and plenty of networking opportunities.

In addition, I also remember vividly Ubiquity’s Joel Jelen speak passionately about raising the profile of All Together Now. I was also delighted to speak to Tom, who was a kind gentleman, with a quiet confidence and dignity.

Since the event, I have read about the origins of All Together Now and I salute Tom’s courage and determination to overcome adversity. To use his personal experience, to help others is an inspiration to many. As a disabled person myself, I can identify with Tom’s passion to help inspire, challenge and change disability attitudes for the better. Therefore I consider it a privilege to write this article, and play my part in helping Tom in his quest, to raise the profile of the charity.

To conclude, I would like to thank Joel and everyone at Ubiquity, as well as HOST and Zut Media, for an excellent evening. I would also like to personally thank Tom for his excellent work, of which I support wholeheartedly.

Leave a Reply

