Networking with Ubiquity – Tuesday 17th January 2017

On a freezing and drizzly evening last Tuesday, I attended a networking event at JAM restaurant. Organised by Ubiquity PR, the event turned out to be an enjoyable occasion, held in an informal atmosphere, with an excellent turnout of people.

Located on St Thomas Street in Liverpool, JAM provides a variety of menus, ranging from brunch, dinner, evening and afternoon tea. When I arrived at the venue, I immediately noticed that the surroundings had a calm ambience, due to the colour scheme of white floors, purple walls and comfortable leather furnishings. These gave a soft and welcoming sight, which helped to generate a relaxing feel to the event.

I also enjoyed the canapés provided, which varied from smoked salmon to goat’s cheese. Whilst I don’t consider myself to be the next A. A. Gill, I found them to be delicious in taste and feel, which indicated they were quality ingredients and prepared, with a lot of tender loving care and effort.

The event itself was a very pleasant experience from start to finish. From the innate professionalism and kindness of the staff, to the interesting mix of people, there were several highlights of the event that stood out for me. These included catching up with familiar faces, and the exchanging of handshakes and stories with new ones.

One memorable highlight for me was an engaging conversation that I had with Kevin Byrne, who is the fundraising manager for Mencap Liverpool. Kevin talked to me about the work that Mencap does for people with learning difficulties, and I talked about my autism, and of my achievement in taking part in last year’s Scouse 5k run, to raise money for Maghull Young Adults Social Club. This is an ideal example of how you can find out what common interests you have with others, through networking.

I would like to thank several people, for a fine evening of networking. These include Joel Jelen and everyone at Ubiquity PR, along with Ray Farley for his superb photography work. Finally I would like to extend my thanks to Joe and Anne-Marie Matthews, and everyone at JAM for their kind hospitality, which helped to make the evening a success.

Leave a Reply

