Edge Hill University – University of the Year 2014

Well done to Edge Hill University for winning University of the Year 2014, at the Times Higher Education awards. This is a measure of how far the university has progressed, since being awarded full university status in 2006.

A few years ago, I had the pleasure and pride of studying and graduating at the university. It only seems like yesterday that I graduated with my Masters Degree. How time has flown by, since I graduated back in 2009.

In my opinion, it is more than just a beautiful 160 acre campus, with great architecture and surrounding greenery. Edge Hill University holds a special place in my heart, as it helped me get to where I am today. I learnt so much from talented and supportive lecturers and I met some wonderful people, during my studies. For students like me, who came from underprivileged and disadvantaged backgrounds, Edge Hill has been the starting point for me to confidently take my first steps into my career in IT, and I will always be eternally grateful.

I recommend Edge Hill University, as a great place to study for any prospective student. If you are interested, have a look at http://www.edgehill.ac.uk/

As a member of the university’s Alumni network, I have occasionally attended a variety of public events and seminars. I have also seen the university grow and bloom into a thriving institution, with many wonderful developments such as the Faculty of Health and Social Care, Arts Centre and Creative Edge. That makes me so proud that the university has been rightfully recognised as a shining beacon of higher education, and I know Edge Hill University will continue to thrive and prosper, as an institution of excellence.

From the bottom of my heart, I conclude with these few words…

Thank you so much and congratulations!

Leave a Reply

